School Staff Calendar 2022/2023 - Draft

Key Dates

2022

August 24 (Wednesday)                     First Year Trip Tanagh (1/2 Group)

August 26 (Friday)                              First Year Trip Tanagh (1/2 Group)

August 29 (Monday)                           First Years in school 8:45 – 12:30

August 30 (Tuesday)                           First/Sixth Year in school 8:45 – 13:10

August 31 (Wednesday)                      First/ Third/ Sixth Year in school 8:45 – 13:10

September 1 (Thursday)                     First/Second/ Third/ Fifth/ Sixth years in school 8:45 – 15:46

September 2 (Friday)                          All students in school 8:45 – 15:46   

   

September 30 (Friday)                        School Closed          

October 8 (Saturday)                          Subject Sampling Morning for Incoming First Year 9am

October 11 (Tuesday)                         Open Night for Incoming First Year 7pm

 

Mid Term        Oct 31 – Nov 4            (Return Monday Nov 7)

 

November 17  (Thursday)                   Fifth Year & TY Parent Teacher Student Meeting

November 22 – 26                              Third- & Sixth-Year November Assessments

 

December 6 (Tuesday)                        Sixth Year Parent Teacher Student Meeting 16:15 – 18:45

December 9 (Friday)                           School Closed

December 15 (Thursday)                    Christmas Concert

December 17 – 22                               Christmas Assessments (to be confirmed)

December 22 – January 4 2021          Christmas Holidays

2023

January 16 (Monday)                          Third Year Parent Teacher Student Meeting 16:15 – 18:45

January 24 (Tuesday)                          First Year Parent Teacher Student Meeting 16:15 – 18:45

 

February 6 (Monday)                           School Closed

February 9 (Thursday)                        Second Year Parent Student Teacher Meeting

February 1 – 10                                   Mock Exams – Third and Sixth Year

 

February 13 – 17                                 Midterm Break

 

March 17 (Friday)                               School Closed

March 28 (Tuesday)                            Sixth Year Parent Teacher Student Meeting

 

April 3 – April 14                                 Easter Holidays

 

May 1 (Monday)                                School Closed

May 22 (Monday)                              Transition Year Presentation of Portfolios

May 23 (Tuesday)                             Evening of Excellence Awards

May 25 (Thursday)                            Sixth Year Graduation

May 27 (Friday)                                 Subject Awards

May 29 – June 2                                Summer Assessments

June 2                                                End of Term

 

Please note that this calendar is subject to change. The school may be required to close for additional days to accommodate staff training

 

 

25 March 2021

Re: Bus Transport

 

Dear Parents,

For those of you who wish to avail of bus transport to the school please note the following:

  • Students who are 4.8km from the school are entitled to bus transport to the school provided that Coláiste Dún an Rí is your nearest school
  • In the case where students are more than 4.8km from the school but Coláiste Dún an Rí is not the nearest secondary school then students may be given a concessionary ticket by Bus Eireann provided there are seats available on the bus.
  • Parents must register for tickets on buseireann.ie before 30 April 2021.
  • Payments must be made as required as Bus Eireann will only determine routes and buses once timely payment is made. They will then allocate tickets.

The local Bus Inspector has told me that he will push for additional routes and buses for the catchment area, but he can only do this once ticket payments are made. Extra tickets or seats will not be provided in August or September. Once payments have been made then the inspector will cross reference addresses with existing and/or new routes.

Unfortunately, the school has no say in the provision of bus routes or tickets. As principal I can only continue to speak with Bus Éireann and ask them to consider extra routes. I also encourage parents to make contact to both Bus Éireann and local public representatives to highlight the need to provide extra routes and buses for the children of the area.

To assist parents with this process I have organised a Zoom meeting for Monday March 29 at 6pm. Please click on this link: https://zoom.us/j/98055155665

The aim of this meeting is to determine the need for bus transport in the catchment area and how we can try to secure extra placements. During this meeting I will try to answer any questions you may have and we can explore future options.

If you have any queries or concerns in relation to bus transport, please don’t hesitate to contact me here in school.

Yours sincerely,

 

Fergal Boyle

 

pdf Letter to Parents Re Bus Transport (188 KB)

Contact Us

Coláiste Dún an RÍ
Kingscourt
Co. Cavan

042 969 8294

info@dunanricollege.ie

Connect With Us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.